The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is a global framework for non-formal education, which challenges young people aged 14-24 to dream big, celebrate their achievements and make a difference in an ever-changing multifaceted environment. More than a million young people around the world are currently participating in the Award.

Duke of Edinburgh International Award logo

Through developing transferable skills, increasing their fitness levels, cultivating a sense of adventure and volunteering in their community, the Award helps young people to find their purpose, passion and place in the world. 

Participants design their own Award programme, set their own goals and record their own progress. The Award allows young people’s achievements to be consistently recognised worldwide, giving them unique international accreditation of their experiences.

The programme is available for students in years 10 to 13 on our three campuses. The International Award and the International Baccalaureate CAS components have much in common and can be operated in conjunction with each other.

The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections and is designed to provide an individualised balanced programme of personal development and challenge. Participants complete all four sections at each level in order to achieve their Award. 

The four sections of the Award

  • Voluntary Service – to learn how to give useful voluntary service to others in their community.
  • Skills - to encourage the development of personal interests, creativity or practical skills.
  • Physical Recreation - to encourage participation in physical recreation and improvement of performance.
  • Adventurous Journey - to encourage a spirit of adventure and discovery whilst planning and undertaking a journey in a group.

For the Gold Award only: a Residential project to broaden experience through involvement with others in a residential setting.

The three levels of the Award

  • Bronze – for those over 14 years. 6 months minimum participation required. The Adventurous Journey is two days and one night.
  • Silver – for those over 15 years. 6 to 12 months minimum participation required. The Adventurous Journey is three days and two nights.
  • Gold – for those over 16 years. 12 to 18 months minimum participation required. The Adventurous Journey is four days and three night.

More general information can be found on the International Award website.

For specific details per campus